Encore® Azalea Autumn Fire™

Rated 4.50 out of 5 based on 24 customer ratings
(24 customer reviews)

$19.49$42.98

Clear

Earn up to 215 PBM Points.

Scientific NameRhododendron ‘Roblez’ PPAF
ExposureHigh filtered shade to full sun. Allow 4-6 hours direct sun for best blooming
Bloom/FeatureVivid red semi-double form blooms measure 2.5 inches across
Avg. Dimensions3' H x 2.5' W
USDA ZonesUSDA Zones 6a-9
SoilWell-drained slightly acidic soil
WaterWater as needed
UsesHedge foundation plant accent mass planting

Description

First introduced in 2016, the Encore Azalea Autumn Fire has rapidly proven itself to be a worthy addition to the Encore® Azalea Collection! This Azalea lives up to the high standards you’ve come to expect from Encore, with deep red, semi-double blooms that stand out phenomenally against dark evergreen foliage. Unlike traditional azaleas that simply bloom in spring, Encores send out bloom after bloom from spring to fall. No deadheading is required to keep the flowers coming!

In winter, the Autumn Fire’s fantastic green foliage will change to a deep purple-bronze color. This adds a whole new level of interest to this red blooming azalea. Afterwards, spring sees the triumphant return of the characteristic dark green foliage.

The dwarf size and compact growth habit make the Encore Fire the least of your concerns when it comes to landscape maintenance. Reaching 2.5′ H x 3′ wide, the Encore Azalea Fire is perfect for a low-hedge, foundation planting, mass planting, accent, or container plant. Plant it in front of taller shrubs with contrasting foliage or bloom color for a dynamic display.

 

Encore Azalea Autumn Fire Care

Unlike traditional azaleas, the Autumn Fire requires 4-6 hours of direct sunlight to thrive and bloom properly.

Plant this red blooming azalea in soil that has an acidic pH, and drains well. Poor drainage will lead to root rot and the expiration of your plant.

Water regularly until well-established in the landscape, generally the first few months after planting. Consequently, this allows them to develop deep roots, which will help ensure their long-term success. They are able to access more nutrients and have an improved capability of dealing with droughts.

Fertilizing your Encore Azaleas in spring with a slow-release, balanced acidic plant fertilizer will help to keep them thriving. Otherwise, for organic gardeners, use a balanced organic fertilizer every two months during the growing season.

Click Here for Additional Planting Tips from Encore Azalea

How to Plant Encore Azaleas

Check out the Autumn Fire’s larger sibling, the Autumn Bonfire

 

 

  • 22
    Shares

Additional information

Scientific NameRhododendron ‘Roblez’ PPAF
ExposureHigh filtered shade to full sun. Allow 4-6 hours direct sun for best blooming
Bloom/FeatureVivid red semi-double form blooms measure 2.5 inches across
Avg. Dimensions3' H x 2.5' W
USDA ZonesUSDA Zones 6a-9
SoilWell-drained slightly acidic soil
WaterWater as needed
UsesHedge foundation plant accent mass planting

24 reviews for Encore® Azalea Autumn Fire™

  1. Rated 5 out of 5

    Anonymous

    Thanks for getting the two autumn fire azaleas to us in time for my dad’s 99th birthday. He is fond of red and these plants arrived in great condition and packed professionally. I could not be more pleased.

  2. Rated 5 out of 5

    Anonymous

    Plants arrived in perfect condition. I’m a little surprised because I’m 3000 miles from you, but they are beautiful.

  3. Rated 3 out of 5

    Linda

    I ordered 5 of the 3gal Autumn fire azaleas. Boxes were opened on delivery and the plants watered as recommended. There were a lot of dead flowers on the bottom of the box and broken branches. Not sure if this was an issue with the packing or the shipping. Customer service has been contacted but I’ve not yet heard back

  4. Rated 3 out of 5

    Leslie Kain

    Plant appeared to be healthy. However, when I pulled it out of the packaging to plant it, I found that it was completely encased & rooted in bark mulch. Soil would have been much better – less of a ‘shock’ for the plant when planted in the ground.

  5. Rated 5 out of 5

    Heather

    I received 5 plants in great packaging. I followed all planting directions (on the website), and they are all looking fantastic. I can’t wait to see them bloomed!

  6. Rated 5 out of 5

    Carolyn Havens

    My Autumn Fire Azaleas arrived exactly when promised. They were packed very well so there was no shipping damage. They are lovely, healthy plants and I’m looking forward to seeing them bloom in my yard.

  7. Rated 5 out of 5

    Eva

    We ordered an encore azalea and was pleasantly surprised at how healthy and beautiful it is. We had never ordered plants on line until now. We loved this site and very pleased with product.

  8. Rated 5 out of 5

    Anonymous

    The order was handled in a speedy manner. The azalea arrived in very good condition.

  9. Rated 4 out of 5

    Anonymous

    After taking 9 days to arrive in Washington state, 2 of three plants arrived in surprisingly good shape, while the third was completely dried out

    ***Staff notes: Shipping to the West coast from our location will usually take 5-7 business days. We recommend that west coast customers wait until cooler times of the year to order so the plants will not dry out during transit. See this link for estimated travel time to your location: http://plantsbymail.com/transit-time-estimate/

  10. Rated 5 out of 5

    Eddie Hawkins

    The plants arrived in two days, very well packed
    And in good shape. Not in the ground yet, but will be very soon. I’ll be ordering again soon. Thanks!! Plants by Mail.

  11. Rated 5 out of 5

    Michael Morris

    Plants showed up in good shape. Poor little things were planted in frozen soil and seem to be doing well. Thank you so much.

    ***Staff Notes:
    We do not recommend planting in frozen soil(This is actually a bad idea!). If your area is still experiencing harsh winter conditions we recommend waiting to order the plants, or order the plants and leave them in the pots and move them indoors during harsh winter conditions. Wait until the winter weather has broke and your area begins to warm up to put them in the ground.

  12. Rated 3 out of 5

    Gary E Bowland

    Bought 2 Encore Azaleas. 1 was was great. 1 was not so great. probably 6 months behind the other one.

  13. Rated 5 out of 5

    Allen

    I ordered 6 of the Azalea Autumn Fire and were delivered in “EXCELLENT” condition. I was amazed at how well these plants showed up in the card board box!! The plants are looking great as it turned HOT shortly after I ordered and planted all of them. No blooms yet…. But my plants look very healthy!!! I am impressed…!!!! Thank you!!!

  14. Rated 5 out of 5

    Jean Martin

    Shipping was prompt. A couple of the packages were pretty banged up during shipment but the plants were so well packaged that they did not suffer at all. All of the shrubs I received were just as fresh as what I would buy directly from a local nursery.

  15. Rated 5 out of 5

    Thomas (verified owner)

    Excellent azaleas and arrived in beautiful shape. Very well pleased.

  16. Rated 3 out of 5

    Kaye Ferrell (verified owner)

    Last season in May – I bought one 3 gallon Autumn Fire and 5 smaller 1 gallon. The 3 gallon died quickly – I was disappointed, however, the smaller plants did fine.

    • PlantsbyMail Customer Service

      Sorry to hear your 3 gallon didn’t do well, Kaye. Be sure to contact us if you have a problem with your plant shortly after receiving it.

  17. Rated 5 out of 5

    Kathy Jones (verified owner)

    We received 10 of these beautiful Encore Autumn fire azaleas last Saturday late. They were packed very well and none of the plant were be damaged. Planted them that Sunday, we had a really good rain, watering today and they already have new growth. I live in a zone 9 so time will tell but I’m confident they will thrive. Can’t wait to see the blooms!

  18. Rated 5 out of 5

    oscartobias (verified owner)

    We ordered 25 Encore Autumn Fire. They arrived in excellent shape and we were extremely pleased with the prompt and professional service we received.

  19. Rated 5 out of 5

    bepperly (verified owner)

    Ordered 10 if the Autumn Fire Encore Azaleas. Received within 2 days of shipping and plants were beautiful and healthy. Soil was still damp due to the great packing. Will definitely order from you again.

  20. Rated 5 out of 5

    jenks.myres (verified owner)

    Beautiful healthy azaleas! Came in less than 48 hours!

  21. Rated 5 out of 5

    jalainec (verified owner)

    I ordered 10 encore Autumn Fire Azaleas, All 20 arrived came individually boxed in perfect condition. Some were blooming. Got them all planted . It’s been 10 days. They still look great. I’m very pleased.

  22. Rated 2 out of 5

    shayhm (verified owner)

    My Encore Azalea looked great when it arrived. Unfortunately, things went downhill quickly. When I removed the plant from its container, over 70% of the planting medium fell away. The root system was abysmal. The roots split out to two sides with no roots directly under the plant. Who knows, it may live. I won’t be chancing another purchase. I don’t see a way to add a photo, so I will add a link below to a picture of what happened when I removed it from the pot. Looking at the picture again reminds just how bad it was. https://photos.app.goo.gl/jtWyCXdTt61fxEwU9

    • PlantsbyMail Customer Service

      This plant was mistakenly pulled from a younger crop of Autumn Fires. After seeing this review, we contacted the customer and shipped her a new one that was well-rooted.

      We stand by our plant guarantee and always want to hear about it when we fall short of expectations.

  23. Rated 5 out of 5

    seweekley (verified owner)

    Absolutely excellent. Arrived in great shipping boxes and the plants are beautiful. I wish we had room for more than the seven we ordered

  24. Rated 5 out of 5

    victoria.m.clair (verified owner)

    Ordered and held for a week or two then planted in zone 6 early spring (after last frost). By midsummer the plants look established and 3 of 4 are all flowering beautifully. Very satisfied. Highly recommend.

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *